The  Indian Institutes of Technology (popularly known as IITs) are  institutions of national importance established through an Act of  Parliament for fostering excellence ineducation. There are fifteen IITs  at present, located in Bhubaneswar,  Bombay (Mumbai), Delhi, Gandhinagar, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore,  Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras (Chennai), Mandi, Patna, Punjab, Rajasthan and  Roorkee. Over the years IITs have created world class educational  platforms dynamically sustained through internationally recognized  research based on excellent infrastructural facilities. The faculty and  alumni of IITs continue making huge impact in all sectors of society,  both in India and abroad. Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu  University (IT-BHU), Varanasi and Indian School of Mines University  (ISM), Dhanbad, are the oldest institutions in India and are known for  their immense contributions towards society at large and for science and  technology in particular.

The primary objectives behind such institutions are to:

Build  a solid foundation of scientific and technical knowledge and thus to  prepare competent and motivated engineers and scientists.

Create  environment for freedom of thought, cultivate vision, encourage growth,  develop personality and selfdiscipline for pursuit of excellence.

Kindle  entrepreneurial streak. All of the above help to prepare the students  admitted to these institutions for successful professional and social  lives. Today, alumni of these institutions occupy key positions in  industry and academia in India and abroad.


Each  institute has well-equipped modern laboratories, state-of-the-art  computer network and well stocked technical library. Teaching methods  rely on direct personal contact between the teachers and the students  and the use of traditional and modern instructional techniques. Students  live in a pleasant and intellectually stimulating environment with  people having similar goals and aspirations, which is an exciting and  unique experience.

Credit-based  academic programmes offer flexibility to students to progress at their  own pace. A minimum level of performance is necessary for satisfactory  progress. The medium of instruction is English. These institutions offer  courses leading to Bachelor’s degree in a number of engineering,  technological and scientific disciplines. M.Sc. Integrated courses in  pure and applied sciences and M.Tech. Integrated courses in a few  disciplines are also offered by some of these Institutions. In addition,  some IITs offer Dual-Degree M.Tech. programmes. The admissions to the  Undergraduate Programmes at these institutions for all Indian and  Foreign nationals are made through the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE).

The details of the pattern and the dates of examination, eligibility criterion and how to apply for JEE 2012 are outlined below:

Schedule of JEE-2012

The examination will be held on Sunday, the April 8, 2012 as per the schedule given below:
Paper-I:    9:00 AM – 12:00 Noon (IST)
Paper-II:   2:00 PM – 5:00 PM (IST)
The schedule will remain unaltered even if the above date is declared a public holiday.

Type of Examination

There  will be two question papers, each of three hours duration. Both the  question papers will consist of three separate sections on Chemistry,  Mathematics and Physics. Questions in these papers will be of objective  type. The answers for each of the questions are to be recorded on a  separate specially designed machine-gradable sheet of paper (ORS –  Optical Response Sheet). While answering each of the questions the  candidate is expected to darken the bubble against correct answer(s)  using hard black (HB) pencils only. In some sections, incorrect answers  may be awarded negative marks.

Choice of Language of Question Paper

A  candidate can opt for question papers either in English or in Hindi.  This option should be exercised while filling the application form. It  cannot be changed at any later stage.

Choice of Font of Question Paper

Candidates  with poor vision can ask for question paper with enlarged font. They  must send a request letter addressed to the Chairman, JEE of the  respective zones along with the application form.

Cities/Towns of JEE-2012 centres

JEE-2012  will be conducted in major cities and towns of India as well as in  Dubai. While applying, candidates should choose any two towns/cities in  the same zone. Efforts will be made to allot candidate’s first or second  choice. However, in some exceptional circumstances, a different city in  the same zone may be allotted. Requests for a change of centre within a  city, will not be entertained. However, under exceptional  circumstances, a change of city within the zone or outside the zone may  be permitted with a request letter. The letter should clearly indicate  the Registration Number with valid reasons for the change and should be  received on or before March 28, 2012 along with a draft of Rs. 500/-  (Rs. 250/- for SC/ST/ PD candidates) drawn in favour of “Chairman, JEE”  of the concerned IIT. The application should be sent to the IIT from  where the candidate received the admit card. In this regard, the  decision of the Chairman, JEE-2012 will be final.

Use of Calculating and Communication aids

Use  of electronic devices like mobile phone, calculator, I-Pod etc. is NOT  PERMITTED in JEE-2012. Materials like Log table, book, notebook, etc.  should not be brought into the examination hall.